<![CDATA[»Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp]]> /items/browse?output=rss2&tags=Federal%20Hill Tue, 13 May 2025 00:06:51 -0400 info@baltimoreheritage.org (»Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp) Baltimore Heritage Zend_Feed http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss <![CDATA[South Baltimore Learning Center]]> /items/show/612

Dublin Core

Title

South Baltimore Learning Center

Subject

Education

Curatescape Story Item Type Metadata

Subtitle

The Former Southern District Police Station

Story

The Southern District Police Station at the corner of East Ostend and Patapsco streets was constructed in 1896. The building was designed by local architect Jackson Coale Gott. Born in 1829, Gott established his own firm in 1863, joined the American Institute of Architects in 1871. His works include the Maryland Penitentiary completed in 1894, two years before the police station. For close to a century, the building served as a police station complete with holding cells and a courtroom until the station closed in 1980.

In 1999, the building was given new life when it was bought and renovated by the South Baltimore Learning Center (SBLC). The police station still holds its original floors, a jail cell, and even bullet holes in the former shooting gallery. In their historic building turned state-of-the-art learning center, SBLC educates over a thousand adults each year with a variety of adult education and related life-skills training focusing on adult literacy and helping students achieve a Maryland High School Diploma.

Official Website

Street Address

28 E. Ostend Street, Baltimore, MD 21230
South Baltimore Learning Center
South Baltimore Learning Center
]]>
Fri, 11 Aug 2017 16:27:48 -0400
<![CDATA[School 33 Art Center]]> /items/show/596

Dublin Core

Title

School 33 Art Center

Subject

Visual and Performing Arts

Curatescape Story Item Type Metadata

Story

School 33 Art Center was established in 1979 as a center for contemporary art in South Baltimore. Formerly known as Public School 33, »Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp City erected the brick and brownstone building in 1890. It operated as an elementary school up until 1975 when a new school opened just a few blocks away. The South »Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp Community Committee sought help from then Mayor William Donald Schaefer in revitalizing the vacant and vandalized building. Based on the success of Long Island City's P.S. 1 in New York and the strong national presence of alternative space programs in the late 1970s, Mayor Schaefer proposed a similar program for Baltimore, thus creating School 33 Art Center.

As this building represented a significant component of Baltimore's architectural heritage, the renovation exemplified the City's belief in the revitalization of unused urban resources. The renovations were made possible with federal funds from the United States Department of Commerce, Economic Development Administration and through the City's Public Works Improvement Program.

After an extensive two-year restoration to allow for the creation of adequate gallery, studio and classroom spaces, School 33 opened its doors in July 1979, becoming Baltimore's original alternative space for contemporary art. The program offerings included one gallery exhibition space (today expanded to three), studio facilities for professional artists, and classrooms for ceramics and printmaking workshops.

For thirty-eight years, School 33 Art Center has been a bridge between contemporary artists and the public. Through exhibitions, studios for artists, classes for adults and children, as well as special events and workshops, the center works to insure a vibrant future for contemporary art and artists in Baltimore. The three gallery spaces, multi-use classrooms, permanent, on-site collaborative installations, and an environmentally-friendly outdoor garden fed by a rainwater collection system are examples of School 33's commitment to maintaining and expanding the potential of our historic building.

Today, as a program of the Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts, the center's goal is to remain an engaging and relevant center for the arts, by showcasing and sustaining emerging and established contemporary artists, and training budding artists from Baltimore and beyond, well into the future.

Official Website

Street Address

1427 Light Street, Baltimore, MD 21230
School 33 Art Center
]]>
Tue, 27 Jun 2017 16:43:10 -0400
<![CDATA[Baltimore Museum of Industry]]> /items/show/389

Dublin Core

Title

Baltimore Museum of Industry

Subject

Museums
Industry

Curatescape Story Item Type Metadata

Story

In the late 1970s, Mayor William Donald Schaefer proposed the creation of a museum to tell the story of Baltimore industry across two centuries of American history. Even before they the new museum found a building, »Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp City officials organized an exhibit at the »Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp Convention Center, and put up a display about the museum-to-be during the »Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp City Fair. Roger B. White, a young city employee hired under the Comprehensive Employment Training Act, led the search to find an appropriate location, acquire collections, and recruit private donors. White found a Platt & Company oyster cannery building on the 1400 block of Key Highway and began the process of turning the old factory into a museum. Once one of eighty canneries operating around Baltimore’s harbor, Platt & Company on Key Highway was one of the last canneries left. The museum developed exhibits on three major periods of Baltimore’s industrial growth: 1790-1830, 1870-1900, and 1920 up through the 1970s. White acquired equipment from the American Brewery and furnishings from the local Read’s Drug Store chain. In November 1981, after years of preparation, the doors opened to the public at the renovated oyster cannery reborn as the Baltimore Museum of Industry. By December, »Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp City had awarded the museum $25,000 to pay for the cost of school field trips and, in 1984, the city decided to purchase the site. The museum originally leased the building for around $25,000 a year but, after the property sold to »Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp City, the rent climbed to $85,000. The museum organized a corporate membership drive in order to cover the rising rent. At the same time, the museum sought to triple the amount of space in the facility while adding a pier and waterfront improvements. In 1996, with only half of the renovation complete, Alonzo Decker Jr., former Black & Decker chief executive, donated $1 million to the fund. With this single donation, the museum surpassed its' $3.5 million goal and finished the renovation. For his gift, the Museum inscribed Decker’s name on the wall of the main gallery. Today, the museum thrives as an immersive experience of permanent and temporary exhibits that detail and demonstrate the industrial history of Baltimore. The exhibits include machinery from a cannery, garment loft, machine shop, pharmacy and print shop and the collections include around a million artifacts. With a pier and waterfront area, the museum often hosts weddings and corporate events as well.

Watch our on this museum!

Official Website

Street Address

1415 Key Highway, Baltimore, MD 21230
Lobby, Baltimore Museum of Industry
Entrance, Baltimore Museum of Industry
Pharmacy
Machine shop
Print shop
Aerial view, Baltimore Museum of Industry
Decker Gallery
]]>
Mon, 08 Sep 2014 10:43:27 -0400
<![CDATA[Jim Rouse Center of the American Visionary Art Museum]]> /items/show/388

Dublin Core

Title

Jim Rouse Center of the American Visionary Art Museum

Subject

Architecture

Description

Formerly home to a whiskey barrel warehouse and the offices of the »Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp Copper Paint Company, the Jim Rouse Center of the American Visionary Art Museum serves as a prime example of adaptive reuse in the City of Baltimore. Built in the 1930s, the simple brick exterior housed an intricate timber framework to support the whiskey barrels, walls, and roof. After many years of vacancy, the building was given new life as part of the American Visionary Art Museum, which recognizes the work of untrained artists.

When the museum was rehabilitated the architects reused portions of the timber framing as a design element, and also brought in other creative materials.The project explores the use and reuse of found objects. Glass bottle bottoms, barrel staves, exposed brick, refurbished windows and neon signs bring an eclectic look to the building, while both recycling used materials and allowing the building to receive historic tax credit certification.

The project received a Preservation Award from Baltimore Heritage honoring the American Visionary Art Museum, Cho Benn Holback + Associates, Inc., J. Vinton Schafer & Sons, Inc., Burdette, Koehler, Murphy & Associates, Hope Furrer Associates, Inc., Miller, Beam, & Paganelli, Inc., Cramptin/Dunlop Architectural Lighting Services LLC, and Alain Jaramillo.

Curatescape Story Item Type Metadata

Lede

Formerly home to a whiskey barrel warehouse and the offices of the »Ê¹ÚÌåÓýapp Copper Paint Company, the Jim Rouse Center of the American Visionary Art Museum serves as a prime example of adaptive reuse in the City of Baltimore.

Story

Built in the 1930s, the simple brick exterior housed an intricate timber framework to support the whiskey barrels, walls, and roof. After many years of vacancy, the building was given new life as part of the American Visionary Art Museum, which recognizes the work of untrained artists.

When the museum was rehabilitated the architects reused portions of the timber framing as a design element, and also brought in other creative materials.The project explores the use and reuse of found objects. Glass bottle bottoms, barrel staves, exposed brick, refurbished windows and neon signs bring an eclectic look to the building, while both recycling used materials and allowing the building to receive historic tax credit certification.

The project received a Preservation Award from Baltimore Heritage honoring the American Visionary Art Museum, Cho Benn Holback + Associates, Inc., J. Vinton Schafer & Sons, Inc., Burdette, Koehler, Murphy & Associates, Hope Furrer Associates, Inc., Miller, Beam, & Paganelli, Inc., Cramptin/Dunlop Architectural Lighting Services LLC, and Alain Jaramillo.

Official Website

Street Address

800 Key Highway, Baltimore, MD 21230
Exterior, Jim Rouse Center
Flicks on the Hill at the Jim Rouse Center
Exterior, Jim Rouse Center
Interior, Jim Rouse Center
Construction of the Jim Rouse Center
]]>
Mon, 08 Sep 2014 10:37:26 -0400
<![CDATA["The Little House" on Montgomery Street]]> /items/show/376

Dublin Core

Title

"The Little House" on Montgomery Street

Subject

Architecture

Curatescape Story Item Type Metadata

Story

With thousands of rowhouses in every shape, size, and style across the city, not every house stands out. But, 200 ½ East Montgomery Street has earned a rare distinction as the narrowest rowhouse in Baltimore—measuring less than nine feet wide! This mid-nineteenth century treasure was built before the Civil War by the owner of the adjoining house at 200 E. Montgomery Street. Despite its age and small size, the "Little House" features a stylish stained-glass transom and tight brickwork.

In 1974, Baltimore Heritage honored Mr. and Mrs. John McNair, then owners of the house, at the sixth annual restoration awards in recognition of their work saving 200 and 200 ½ East Montgomery Street from neglect and decay. The couple brought a passion for old houses when they moved to Baltimore from New England and purchased 200 East Montgomery Street (a generous 22 feet wide) and the six-room house next door at 200 ½. The restoration included repointing masonry while matching the original color of the mortar, restoring the interior woodwork, and refinishing the original wood floors.

Street Address

200 1/2 E. Montgomery Street, Baltimore, MD 21230
200 1/2 E. Montgomery Street (2014)
]]>
Thu, 17 Jul 2014 08:17:13 -0400
<![CDATA[Major General Samuel Smith Monument at Federal Hill]]> /items/show/190

Dublin Core

Title

Major General Samuel Smith Monument at Federal Hill

Subject

Public Art and Monuments

Creator

Scott S. Sheads

Curatescape Story Item Type Metadata

Story

Overlooking the Inner Harbor from Federal Hill stands the statue of Major General Samuel Smith (1752-1839). Smith's life as a Revolutionary War officer, merchant, ship-owner, and U.S. Senator earned him the experience and fortitude in the momentous crises before to successfully command Baltimore during the War of 1812 and its darkest hour: the British attack on Washington and Baltimore in 1814.

The statue, funded by the city's 1914 centennial celebration of the Battle of Baltimore, is the design of sculptor Hans Schuler (1874-1951) who studied at the Maryland Institute College of Art. The statue was first erected at Wyman Park Dell at North Charles and 29th Streets in 1917 and dedicated on July 4, 1918.

In 1953, the Recreation and Parks Department moved the sculpture to "Sam Smith Park" at the corner of Pratt and Light Streets, the future waterfront site of the 1980 Rouse Company Harborplace project. In 1970, with the Inner Harbor renewal project underway, the statue moved again to the present site on Federal Hill, where in 1814 a gun battery had been erected and the citizens of Baltimore witnessed the fiery bombardment of Fort McHenry.

The inscriptions on the monument read:

MAJOR-GENERAL SAMUEL SMITH, 1752-1839 / UNDER HIS COMMAND THE ATTACK OF THE BRITISH UPON BALTIMORE BY LAND AND SEA SEPTEMBER 12-14, / 1814 WAS REPULSED. MEMBER OF CONGRESS FORTY SUCCESIVE YEARS, / PRESIDENT U.S. SENATE, SECRETARY OF THE NAVY, MAYOR OF BALTIMORE. /HERO OF BOTH WARS FOR AMERICAN INDEPENDENCE – LONG ISLAND – WHITE / PLAINS – BRANDYWINE – DEFENDER OF FORT MIFFLIN – VALLEY FORCE – / MONMOUTH – BALTIMORE. /

ERECTED BY THE NATIONAL STAR-SPANGLED BANNER CENTENNIAL

Street Address

Federal Hill Park, 300 Warren Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21230
Samuel Smith Monument
]]>
Tue, 12 Feb 2013 14:14:23 -0500